Upcoming Meetings

March 2019 Professional Development Workshop

Susan C. Young presenting "Review, Redo and Renew" -- Keys to Positive Transformation
March 20, 2019 | 8:00 AM CDT

Read More

What If....Your Deepest Pain Is Your Greatest Purpose?

Xavier Whitford, Tommy Corral Memorial Foundation/Each Breath of Faith Ministries
April 15, 2019 | 11:30 AM CDT

Read More

What If....Mentoring Matters?

Shamika Williams is Founder of KFACTs and a Visionary
May 20, 2019 | 11:30 AM CDT

Read More

About Us

  • RNPW Members come together to connect with, learn from and support one another!

In March 1981, four Rockford women met to discuss how women in the Rock River Region could join forces in support of other women.  From this meeting, the concept of the Rockford Network of Professional Women (RNPW) evolved.  

Those four women were Mildred Berry, Barbara Chapman, Marcella Harris, and Jeanine Wortmann.

Weekly organizational meetings were held with attendance increasing steadily. Standing rules were formulated and the Rockford Network of Professional Women became official in June 1981.


Vision Statement

Rockford Network of Professional Women is a dynamic organization in the greater Rockford region that connects, empowers, and inspires women.

Mission Statement

Rockford Network of Professional Women exists to encourage professional and personal growth for all women through education, mentorship, and networking in order to serve one another and our community.

Core Values
1. Hospitality
2. Inclusivity
3. Relational
4. Respectful
5. Inspirational
6. Positivty
7. Empowering
8. Growth


RNPW Purpose 

  • To encourage women to attain leadership roles in the immediate and expanded community and to provide the preparatory training and the support that wil enable them to perform effectively.

  • To provide an appropriate and needed forum for corporate and professional women to give and seek help in the advancement of their careers.

  • To provide job-related support.

  • To develop an information base for civic, professional, and personal pursuits.


Current Board of Directors (volunteer-based)

More About Us

One of the purposes of forming RNPW was also to provide a scholarship opportunity to a deserving woman in the Rock River Region to pursue her professional endeavors.  More about that scholarship information and history is on our Scholarship Page.

At monthly meetings, RNPW members and guests come together to connect with, learn from and support one another. An hour later we emerge energized and inspired to move forward in our careers and community volunteer projects!  Click here for upcoming meetings/events.

Rockford Network is not a business referral organization; rather, our focus is on educating and inspiring women to excel at their professional endeavors. However, there is no denying that membership in Rockford Network leads to beneficial relationships with women of influence throughout the Rock River Valley….women who become valued friends, mentors and clients.  Click here for more Member Benefits.

Rockford Network of Professional Women typically meets on the third Monday of every month (excluding July and August) at a convenient, local venue. Our luncheon meetings typically feature a guest speaker as well as time for networking; evening meetings are occasionally held. Annual dues are extremely reasonable.  JOIN NOW.

Past RNPW Presidents

  • 2016-2017  Karen Keller
  • 2015-2016  Kim Millhorn
  • 2014-2015  Jan Bowman
  • 2013-2014  Stacy Wallace
  • 2012-2013  Tonya Thayer
  • 2010-2012 Karen Anderson
  • 2008-2010  Jean Beranek
  • 2007-2008  Holly Hanson
  • 2006-2007  Shirley DeBendetto
  • 2005-2006  Andrea Azar
  • 2004-2005  Kathy Velasco
  • 2003-2004  Monica Glenny
  • 2001-2003  Pamela Hedges
  • 2000-2001  Mary McCarthy